For immediate release?۬
Tuesday, August 19, 2014?۬


MISSISSAUGA, Ont. ??? The Canadian Women’s Hockey League is excited to announce that 58 players have been selected in the 2014 CWHL Draft and will join the Brampton Thunder, Boston Blades, Calgary Inferno, Montreal Stars and Toronto Furies for the 2014-15 season.

Forward Laura Fortino (Hamilton, Ont.) was selected first overall by Brampton, while Megan Bozek (Buffalo Grove Ill) went second overall to Toronto, Sarah Davis (Paradise, N.L.) was picked third overall by Calgary, Jenny Potter (Edina, Minn.) was selected fourth overall by Boston and Kim Desch̻nes went fifth overall to Montreal.

The 2014 CWHL Draft took place Tuesday night via conference call, with general managers from each team announcing which players they intend to sign in 19 total rounds, starting with Brampton, then followed by Toronto, Calgary and Boston, with Montreal concluding each round. This marks the fifth annual entry draft for the Canadian Women’s Hockey League.

"With each and every season, the calibre of our league continues to grow, and the skilled players selected in this year’s draft are prime examples," CWHL commissioner Brenda Andress said. "We look forward to watching these talented athletes excel on the ice, and serve as role models off the ice, as the CWHL continues to get bigger and better."

Please CLICK HERE for the full list of this year’s CWHL draft picks, and visit for more information on all of your favourite Canadian Women’s Hockey League players.

The top five players selected by each team are as follows:


  1. Forward Laura Fortino (Hamilton, Ont.)
  2. Forward Jamie Lee Rattray (Whitby, Ont.)
  3. Forward Carly Mercer (Exeter, Ont.)
  4. Goaltender Erica Howe (Ottawa, Ont.)
  5. Forward Kelly O’Hanlon (Markham, Ont.)


  1. Defenceman Megan Bozek (Buffalo Grove, Ill.)
  2. Forward Kelly Terry (Whitby, Ont.)
  3. Forward Tanis Lamoureux (Stuttgart, Germany)
  4. Defenceman Candice Styles (Orangeville, Ont.)
  5. Defenceman Laurel Hill (Huntsville, Ont.)


  1. Forward Sarah Davis (Paradise, N.L.)
  2. Defenceman Hayleigh Cudmore (Oakville, Ont.)
  3. Forward Louise Warren (Pembroke, Ont.)
  4. Forward Jessica Campbell (Melville, Sask.)
  5. Forward Brittany Esposito (Edmonton, Alta.)


  1. Forward Jenny Potter (Edina, Minn.)
  2. Defenceman Monique Lamoureux (Grand Forks, N.D.).
  3. Forward Brianna Decker (Dousman, Wis.)
  4. Defenceman Alyssa Gagliardi (Raleigh, N.C.)
  5. Defenceman Kaleigh Fratkin (Burnaby, B.C.)


  1. Forward Kim Deschenes (Saint-Quentin, N.B.)
  2. Forward Vanessa Gagnon (Saint-Constant, Que.)
  3. Defenceman Sophie Brault (Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Que.)
  4. Forward Chelsey Saunders (Ottawa, Ont.)
  5. Forward Erin Lally (Calgary, Alta.)

For more information, please visit, and follow the CWHL via social media on Twitter at and at on Facebook

For CWHL media requests, please contact content and media relations manager Kristen Lipscombe at [email protected] or (902) 570-3177.

About the Canadian Women’s Hockey League (CWHL)

The CWHL is the most premier, professionally run women’s hockey league in the world. It enables elite female hockey players to pursue their dreams of competing at the highest level possible, while enhancing the lives of others through exceptional athleticism, entertainment and motivation. The league is centrally funded, with all participating teams in the CWHL receiving equal access to financial support and given the same opportunities to succeed. The CWHL is a not-for-profit organization, with every dollar going towards building a league that is dedicated to raising the profile of women’s hockey, providing a place for the best female players in the world to compete and inspiring the next generation of female hockey heroines. Since the CWHL’s inception in 2007, each hockey season has culminated in an exciting play-off round in which the top teams face off for the Clarkson Cup, named after former Governor General of Canada Adrienne Clarkson.?۬?۬

For more information, please contact:

CWHL Commissioner Brenda Andress ?۬
(647) 278-6515 [email protected]