Toronto, ONT (March 15, 2018) –– The Canadian Women’s Hockey League announced today the major award nominees for the 2018 CWHL Awards Show, presented by the National Hockey League Players’ Association. The night honouring the best performances and moments from the 2017-18 regular season is set to take place on Friday, March 23 at the Toronto Centre for the Art.

Tickets can be purchased by visiting

Four members of Les Canadiennes de Montréal are nominated for awards. Captain Ann-Sophie Bettez is nominated for the CWHL MVP, Cathy Chartrand for Defenceman of the Year, Emerance Maschmeyer for Goaltender of the Year, and Dany Brunet for Head Coach of the Year.

Angela James Bowl (awarded to the regular season scoring champion)

Kelli Stack – Kunlun Red Star

Returning to the CWHL this season with the Kunlun Red Star, Kelli Stack delivered one of the leagues most impressive offensive campaigns in recent history. Tallying a league-leading 49 points (26 G, 23 A), the Boston College alumna recorded the highest single-season point total since 2011-12. With Stack’s offensive burst, the Kunlun Red Star finished second in the CWHL with a 21-6-1 record.

Chairman’s Trophy (awarded to the regular season champions)

Les Canadiennes de Montréal

Claiming their eighth Chairman’s Trophy in team history, Les Canadiennes de Montréal secured first place on the final weekend of the regular season, finishing 2017-18 with a 22-5-1 record.

CWHL MVP (nominees)

Kelli Stack – Kunlun Red Star

Joining the Kunlun Red Star this past offseason, Kelli Stack delivered one of the leagues most impressive offensive campaigns in recent history. Tallying a league-leading 49 points (26 G, 23 A), the Boston College alumna recorded the highest single-season point total since 2011-12. With Stack’s offensive burst, the Kunlun Red Star finished second in the CWHL with a 21-6-1 record.

Jamie Lee Rattray – Markham Thunder

A breakout season for the fourth-year CWHL veteran, Jamie Lee Rattray finished 2017-18 tied for third in scoring with 39 points (22 G, 17 A).  Playing a pivotal role for the Thunder in their first season in Markham, the Clarkson University alumna helped guide her team to the final playoff position with a 16-game scoring streak to end the season. With seven straight victories to close out the regular season, Rattray and the Thunder locked up the final playoff position with a 14-7-7 record.

Ann-Sophie Bettez – Les Canadiennes de Montréal

Having previously taken home the CWHL MVP in 2014, Les Canadiennes forward Ann-Sophie Bettez has been no stranger to the top of the standings in her time with Montréal. A McGill University alumna, Bettez stepped into a major leadership role becoming the captain of Les Canadiennes this season, while delivering 39 points (19 G, 20 A) to tie for third place in the CWHL scoring race. With Bettez elevating the attack of Les Canadiennes, Montreal finished with a 22-5-1 first place record.

Goaltender of the Year (nominees)

Noora Räty – Kunlun Red Star

Signing with the Kunlun Red Star as one of their first international additions, Finnish goaltender Noora Räty delivered one of the best single-season performances in recent years. A University of Minnesota alumna, Räty led the CWHL in goals-against average (1.60) and save percentage (.944), while also tying a new CWHL record for shutouts in a season with 6.

Erica Howe – Markham Thunder

A veteran of the CWHL, Erica Howe played an instrumental role in the Markham Thunders late-season playoff push. Earning five of her eight wins this season following the CWHL’s December break, the Clarkson University graduate shut down the opposition, finishing the season second in save percentage (.930) and third in goals-against average (2.18).

Emerance Maschmeyer – Les Canadiennes de Montréal

Acquired in an offseason trade, Emerance Maschmeyer proved to be a difference maker from her first appearance with Les Canadiennes. A Harvard University alumna,  Maschmeyer recorded the most wins in the CWHL this season with 18, while also joining Räty as a new single-season shutout record holder with 6. Maschmeyer ended the 2017-18 regular season second in goals-against average (1.78) and fourth in save percentage (.920).

Defenceman of the Year (nominees)

Katelyn Gosling – Calgary Inferno

In her second season with the Calgary Inferno, defenceman Katelyn Gosling notched new career high’s in almost every statistical category. Finishing 2017-18 in fourth for scoring among defenceman, the University of Western product collected 18 points (7 G, 11 A), while ending the campaign with a plus-14 rating.

Jessica Wong – Kunlun Red Star

Serving as a leader with the Kunlun Red Star, CWHL veteran Jessica Wong showcased an ability to both lift young talent and take over when needed. The University of Minnesota-Duluth alumna finished second amongst all defenceman in both plus-minus (+24) and scoring with 24 points (10 G, 14 A).

Cathy Chartrand – Les Canadiennes de Montréal

A big-bodied defender in front of the Montréal net, Cathy Chartrand consistently proved to be a focal point in Les Canadiennes breakout. Defensively, the McGill University grad led all CWHL defenceman with a plus-28 rating, while also finishing third in defenceman scoring with 22 points (5 G, 17 A).

Rookie of the Year (nominees)

Sophie Shirley – Calgary Inferno

At just 18 years old, first-year Inferno Sophie Shirley made an immediate impact with Calgary, playing her way into the top line of the very deep squad. A Saskatoon, Sask., native, Shirley finished her first CWHL season top 20 in scoring with 19 points (8 G, 11 A), tying for sixth amongst all rookies.

Brittany Zuback – Toronto Furies

A product of the University of Vermont, Brittany Zuback proved herself to be a reliable offensive weapon for the Toronto Furies during the second half of the season. Recording nine of her 13 (5 G, 8 A) regular season points in the final two months of the season, Zuback declared herself a key focal point of the Furies future.

Cayley Mercer – Vanke Rays

Ranking at the top of the CWHL scoring race all season long, Vanke Rays forward Cayley Mercer made a quick first impression on the league. The first pick of the Rays and seventh overall in the 2017 CWHL Draft, Mercer recorded the third longest scoring-streak this season, collecting 19 points over a nine-game stretch. The Clarkson University alumna finished second in the CWHL scoring race overall with 41 points (15 G, 26 A) in just her first season.

Coach of the Year (nominees)

Tomas Pacina – Calgary Inferno

Dany Brunet – Les Canadiennes De Montréal

Jeff Flanagan – Toronto Furies

Humanitarian of the Year 


Jayna Hefford Trophy ( players-voted MVP, presented by the NHLPA)


Purchase tickets for the 2017-18 Clarkson Cup Playoffs at

Purchase tickets for the 2018 Clarkson Cup Weekend including the 2018 CWHL Awards Show and the Clarkson Cup Final by visiting

For the latest news and updates from the CWHL make sure to follow @thecwhl on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.